Home » About the Library

The mission of the Upshur County Public Library is to provide lifelong learning opportunities to this rural county by connecting people with information. All ages have access to a varied, balanced current collection of materials in formats appropriate for their level. Access to high speed internet connections and evolving technologies to meet changing informational needs in a pleasant, secure environment is provided. Residents will have access to the information needed to make informed life choice decisions. We support intellectual freedom through the Library Bill of Rights.


Paul NorkoDirector
VacantAssistant Director
Connie CutrightBusiness Manager
Bobbi LongCirculation Supervisor, Children's
Karen HeaterCataloging
Brandon TrawickCataloging
Holly Tunning CanfieldCirculation
Shanda HooverCirculation

Board Members

Kyle NuttallBoard President
Katie LoudinVice President
Matt StottSecretary
Sherry DeanTrustee
John HaymondTrustee

The Board of Directors of the Upshur County Public Library is composed of five members serving staggered five-year terms. The members are appointed in alternate years by the Upshur County Board of Education and the Upshur County Commission. Library Board meetings are typically held on the third Wednesday of each month at 4:00 p.m. at the library, but may be rescheduled because of weather or board member availability.  Board members may be contacted c/o Upshur County Public Library, 1150 Route 20 South Rd, Buckhannon, WV 26201.

Board Meeting agendas for meetings held within the past 12 months may be found below (Meetings were not held in September, November & December 2023):